Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate drivers about...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Licensed Agent for 10 Years

UPDATED: Aug 21, 2019

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance-related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

DUI stands for driving under the influence, whether it may be alcohol or drug-impaired. Many states including New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Ohio use this term to identify a person who is under the influence while operating a motor vehicle.

The state and the number of offenses determine the actual consequence when a driver is caught in the act of a DUI.

Use our FREE quote tool to compare insurance rates now!

How much is auto insurance after a DUI?

In Ohio’s case, they also use another term to describe the same action of a DUI. OVI, which stands for operating a vehicle under the influence, according to Ohio, is shared with the term DUI across the state.

There are different terms used throughout various states that refer to DUI:

  • OVI
  • DWI
  • OMVI

All terms mean that the driver is operating a vehicle while intoxicated.

What are the primary Ohio DUI laws?

If a driver in the state of Ohio operates a vehicle on a highway, public or private property, or even a parking lot under the influence of alcohol or in an impaired state, they are subject to a variety of tests.

These tests are used to determine if the driver is over the legal limit of an alcoholic or abusive drug substance and include:

  • Chemical diagnosis
  • Blood work
  • Urine samples
  • Breathalyzer

If the tests come back positive for the OVI or DUI results, the person will then be arrested in for their irresponsible actions. In Ohio, this law is known as the implied consent law.

If the driver refuses to give a Breathalyzer test or to go through with other chemical testing, they will be subject to a loss of their Ohio driver’s license from anywhere to 90 days to 5 years.

If the person who is driving under the influence in Ohio does not have an Ohio driver’s license, they will be suspended from driving in the state for the same period depending on the severity of the case.

However, the amount of time is determined by their previous offenses and the amount of cooperation that they give to the police officers on the scene.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What are the different offenses for DUIs in Ohio?

A first offense of driving under the influence in the state of Ohio with a Breathalyzer test failure at 0.08% results in a 90-day suspension of a driver’s license. However, if the person refuses the test altogether, they will receive a license suspension for one year from the date that it is suspended.

A second offense results in a one-year suspension of the license with a test failure, and a two-year suspension with a refusal to take the Breathalyzer test.

The third offense for a DUI in the state of Ohio forces the driver to lose their license for two years for failure on the test and a three-year license suspension for refusal to take the test.

If the driver is caught for the fourth time, they will lose their license for three years and, if they refuse to take the test, they will have their license suspended for 5 years.

Drivers have a right to appeal their offenses after the tickets and documents are given.

What happens if you are caught for a DUI under 21 years of age?

In the state of Ohio, if you are above the age of 21, your blood alcohol content percentage must be lower than 0.08% to drive legally.

However, a the driver is under 21 years of age and their blood alcohol concentration is between 0.02% and 0.08%, the law forbids them to be operating a vehicle. The underage driver under the influence could be subject to fines and suspension of a license depending on their amount of offenses.

What happens if a driver is caught driving with a suspended license?

In Ohio, if a driver’s license is suspended for the reason of a DUI, they should not be operating any type of vehicle. Driving under the influence is already considered a criminal offense; however, if the driver is caught with a suspended license it is an entirely new crime added to their record.

The consequences for operating a vehicle with a suspended license include:

  • A $250 fine
  • Jail time depending on the severity of the case
  • Possible suspension of the license
  • 30-day immobilization of the vehicle that the driver was operating if they own it

If the driver has been caught driving with a suspended license on more than one event, they will be subject to a longer suspension, increased jail time and denied access to their vehicle for at least 60 days.

As you can see, the consequences associated with driving under the influence are quite serious. It is simply not worth the risk to drive while in this condition.

You risk not only your own life, but also other innocent lives in addition to the financial and judicial ramifications.

Use our FREE quote tool to compare insurance rates today!

How much is auto insurance after a DUI?

Related posts:

  1. New Jersey DUI Laws
  2. California DUI Laws
  3. Utah DUI Laws